Fresh Fig Salad

Image

I saw these fresh figs at my local fruit and flower shop. I couldn’t resist overspending on them..they were calling my name! I still can’t believe how expensive figs are around here, I think it’s time I attempt to grow my very own fig supply.

This salad is great as a main, or served in smaller portions as a starter.

If you’re not a fan of blue cheese, substitute with goats cheese or fresh mozzarella. Still, I encourage you to to use this opportunity as your blue cheese debut!

In any case…this fresh fig salad is well worth it! (serves 2 as a main)

1 punnet  fresh figs

2-3 handfuls of mixed leaves – I used watercress, spinach and butter lettuce. Arugula would be ideal but I couldn’t find any.

1/4 cup toasted hazelnuts

25g blue cheese crumbles

For the dressing:

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1  tbsp raw organic honey

1/4 tsp black pepper

Whisk the olive oil, balsamic vinegar and honey together. Add pepper and allow to rest.

In the mean time, toss the salad ingredients together.

Drizzle the dressing generously over the salad. Make sure you drench the figs!

You MUST enjoy a bit of cheese with every bite of fig.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment

mydearbakes

showcasing my dear's wonderful bakes!

Shinjini Amitabh Chawla

Ex-wedding blogger now on a mission to help moms!

Touchee Feelee

Watercolour scatter cushions