High Fibre Digestive Biscuits

I really love digestive biscuits. Did you know that Prince William’s wedding cake was a digestive biscuit cake… another reason I’ve always wanted to make these biscuits;) Image

I’m also delighted to have been advised by a dietician that they’re the kind of biscuits that you should not feel so “guilty about”..unless your hand reaches for the biscuit tin for the third or fourth time in one go!;)

I love having digestive biscuits for breakfast , with some fruit and yoghurt — I will be posting my new favourite weekday breakfast sometime soon. Watch this space! I’ve been dying to make some at home.
I’m not particularly good at baking biscuits but I find this recipe which I adapted from The Little Loaf to be FOOL PROOF!

Ingredients: ( makes 36 biscuits ) 100g oats
100 g plain flour
4 tbsp wheat germ
4 tbsp whole wheat bran
100g Muscavado sugar ( or any brown sugar will do )
200g cold butter (chopped into small cubes)
2 tsp baking powder
a pinch of salt
6 tbsp cold milk ( I used low-fat , but you can use whatever you prefer)
Method:
Pop the oats into the blender and blitz until you achieve a finer texture.
Mix the oats, flour, baking powder, salt and sugar together in a bowl.
Rub the butter through until the mixture resembles a crumbly soil texture.
Add the milk and mix by hand to form a smooth dough. Store in an air-tight container or wrap in cling-film for 15 minutes in the fridge. After the dough has chilled, roll out to about 3-4mm.
I had to use a sprinkle of flour now and then to stop the dough from sticking to the surface and my rolling pin.
Cut into +- 5cm diameter circles and prick with a tooth pick, or any other decorative imprint if you wish.
Bake at 180 degrees for 15 minutes.
Image
Make sure you leave enough dough to make a special biscuit for your dog!
It wasn’t too difficult to wake Rojho up with the aroma of warm cookies. He devoured his digestive biscuit and wondered where he could find some more. Image
Enjoy!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

mydearbakes

showcasing my dear's wonderful bakes!

An Indian Wedding Blog

Wedding planning just got a whole lot easier.

IndiKate

Just a girl who likes travel

Touchee Feelee

Homeware and pamper boutique

